Where to start with Developing

Hi,

I am new to Smartthings and programming in general, if I was to learn a language that would be most beneficial to me would it be Java? I need to understand the basics of programming with Smartthings being the core of my programming use. I have been a Network Engineer (CCNA, CCNP) so I have some configuration experience so I am not completely un-technical (if that helps).

Thanks in advance

If programming smartapps (and/or device types) for SmartThings is your primary goal, then the language you need to learn is Groovy.

http://docs.smartthings.com/en/latest/introduction/groovy-the-smartthings-programming-language.html

Unfortunately, Groovy is nowhere near as widespread as many other languages, so documentation or tutorials written for newcomers to programming is nigh on non-existent for Groovy.

The good news, however, is that Groovy is built upon Java, so knowing the fundamentals of Java is a very good starting point.

Certainly learn the fundamentals of Java. There is lots of material out there specifically targetting novices which will allow you to learn the fundamentals of types, variables, arrays, strings, loops, conditionals, functions, parameters, classes, variable scope, etc., all of which will stand you in very good stead for the future.

Java is a big topic; whilst it is a useful tool to have in your belt, as a beginner it may be difficult for you to know which parts are relevant and which are not. The semantic differences between Groovy and Java may also trip you up occasionally if you’re trying to understand some SmartApps whilst also learning Java.

If you can learn the fundamental elements I listed above, such that you understand the concepts and are comfortable explaining them to somebody else, that would be an excellent start. This would then allow you to:

1. Read existing SmartApps, make changes to them and have those changes
    do as you expect, or work out why they don’t.