What can I store in state?

I’m working on my first SmartApp and I’m new to Groovy, so this is a neophyte question.

My app associates pairs of virtual switches with physical doors, and rather than create a separate event handler for each individual device, I have, generic handlers that figure out which door or switch is being handled and changes something in the associated door/switch. Here’s an example:

def onHandler(evt)
{
	log.debug "Handler caught ON request from virtual Switch: $evt.device"
    def map = [
    	(switch1 ? switch1.id : "") : door1, 
    	(switch2 ? switch2.id : "") : door2, 
    	(switch3 ? switch3.id : "") : door3, 
    	(switch4 ? switch4.id : "") : door4, 
    ]

def d = map.get(evt.device.id, null)
    if (d)
	{
    	log.debug "Opening door $d in response to switch ${evt.device}"
        d.open()
	}
}

I’d like to not need to create the map on each callback, but persist it in the app. Based on a recommendation on another thread, I tried putting it in state. That, unfortunately, quickly caused a crash. I can’t paste the exact error because Live Logging is broken for me right now. It was a rather vague and terse exception, and my guess is that I can’t put device references into state.

The docs say:

You can use state to store strings, numbers, lists, booleans, maps, etc

It’s the etc that I’m wondering about. It also mentions:

State is stored in JSON format; for most data types this works fine, but for more complex object types this may cause issues.

My guess is that may cause issues means might crash.

So, I can’t store devices into state. The obvious question is, what can I store? Presumably, any POD is fine, such as device IDs. But if I store device IDs, how do I retrieve a device from its ID? It seems like somewhere there should be a map of all devices by ID.

Am I missing something, or am I going about this wrong?