What are the MUST DO things in the Smartthings app?

Hi, I’m new to HA and Smartthings, though I do have Hue. I just set up my ST v2 hub today and my things (the starter kit plus two extra motion sensors). I have read a LOT in this community but am confused about the necessity of the ST app. I know it most likely MUST be used for creating your ST account, setting up the hub and connecting your Things. Is anything else in the ST app a ‘must do’ or a ‘can only do it here’ thing? I know there are custom apps/SmartApps, etc. I’m wondering at what point I can just ignore options in the ST app itself and move to a different app. For instance, do routines HAVE to be defined in the ST app? Do modes HAVE to be set up there too? Are alerts only going to show in the ST app?

*sorry for the caps above - just want to emphasize the intent of my questions. Hope you don’t mind. *

Thanks for your time and patience with this noob! :grinning:

1 Like

There aren’t many other “view and control” mobile Apps (and only 1 pure web App).

Only the SmartThings official native mobile App can create account, add devices and SmartApps, and display these Devices exactly as the device type handler developer defined.

As for 3rd Party User Interface “Apps”:

• SmartRules is a SmartApp that lets you define automations using graphical interface on iOS.

• SharpTools is an Android App that lets you create widgets and integrate with Tasker.

• SmartTiles is a web App that lets you define and use a much slimmer efficient tile based view and control page for your SmartThings.

I’m one the developer team for SmartTiles – check it out. … but let me know if I’ve help answer your question.

2 Likes