Unleash the Power of SmartThings with Advanced Automations Using Node-Red

1. Introduction

I had been using SmartThings for many years and out-grown what I could automate with SmartThings Routines and Rules, so started looking at how to implement more advanced automations.

After reviewing the SmartThings Apps feature, I concluded that it was not for me. The process seems convoluted and the requirement for me to provide a web endpoint, open to the internet was a shop stopper.

So I investigated alternatives and discovered a great way to build advanced automations which, run locally, are simple to build and importantly does not require me to open up my home network to the internet.

I thought others SmartThings users would be interested in the approach.

I now build all my advanced automations using this method and tools as they are: quick to build and maintain, run on my home network and enable me to develop any automation idea, however complex.

2. Here’s how I build my Advanced Automation.

An Advanced Automation consists of two parts.

Trigger

The first part of the advanced automation defines WHEN the Automation will be initiated. E.g. when a switch is turned on, or a button is pressed, or when it is manually initiated from the SmartThings App.

A set of one or more Triggers are built by creating a SmartThings Routine using the SmartThings App. Assuming you are using local edge drivers, the SmartThings Routine runs locally on your SmartThings Hub.

When the trigger conditions are met, the SmartThings routine sends a HTTP

requests, using Todd Austin’s Web Requester edge driver, to initiate

an Automation running locally on a separate, always-on, dedicated Automation Box.

Automation

The second part of the advanced automation defines the sequence of actions that are executed when the trigger event is raised.

The Automation is built with the Node-RED tool and the SmartThings Node-RED library, published by Samsung, for interacting with SmartThings devices.