University project

hello, i’m an engineering student that’s looking for a project for my university. i was planning on making my own zigbee based system but i hope that i can build on this project to get started. My team will consist of 5 or 6 skilled electronic and programming engeneers and a team of professors. I’m surcing for good idea’s for my project, ways of financing and a platform. my basic idea’s are:

• indoor locating
  • led lighting
  • software that is able to asses behaviour and react on it (based on indoor location)
  • easy to install indoor electric network
  • lots of sensors to communicate

the project has to be complicated enough but it should be able to be done in 6 months

thank,

Maarten A

is everything open source? what is the actual goal of smartThings?

The actual goal of SmartThings?

Insane profits for its founders and funders, of course.

Physical Graph Corporation is a for-profit entity. No … SmartThings is not Open Source – just “Published API” (big difference). It also integrates open (Zigbee) and proprietary (Z-Wave) popular standards, and more to come.

For a similar, but fully Open Source enterprise (I believe), consider http://www.NinjaBlocks.com

Discussion welcome.

…CP.

thank you very much, it’s hard to find a way to the right software and hardware, zo thanks for poiting it out. i believe smartThings is doing a great job advertising ‘open source’, i realy had an impression of them being open source for some parts of there products.

I’m happy to help, and interested in your project. I am researching multiple enterprises currently.

I am curious, however, what specific references or advertisings say that SmartThings is ‘open source’…?

There are many variations on “openness”, so I would like to know what you have believe is the case, and why…

Thanks!?..