UK Compatible Light Bulbs

Hi, I am very new to home automation and i am looking at purchasing smart things but i am struggling to find any lighting that works in the uk without spending an additional £150.00 on an other unit

Thanks in advance
Nathan

If you don’t care about HomeKit compatibility, you can get the
Hue starter Kit with the round Hue bridge (1st generation, not HomeKit compatible) and two Lux bulbs for about £50 right now.

Each bridge can handle Up to 50 bulbs.

Beginning in December, the new Hue white line of bulbs should be available in the UK. They are priced at about £20 each and are about 25% brighter than the Lux model. That’s a nice bulb, and the cost of the bridge then gets factored over the number of bulbs you have.

If you also want HomeKit compatibility, you have to get the generation two of the bridge (the square one), which is a bit more expensive, at £50 for the bridge alone. But again lower than previous pricing.

The old bulbs will work with the new bridge and the new bulbs will work with the old bridge and they’ll all work with SmartThings, so with the new price reductions, Hue is a pretty easy choice right now. :sunglasses:

2 Likes

If your feeling adventurous some users got lifx working in the UK

I am with JD. Nothing compares to Phillips hue. TCP, LIFX or all those stuff. There has been tons of improvements on ST side but any changes in ST land makes me nervous @juano2310 did a great job. Biggest benefit is their native app and third party apps work, Alexa works (v2 is being worked upon), Harmony works, HomeKit works with v2 and tons of options not limited to ST. Costs a little more but worth it…and above all it is the sexiest product.

1 Like

Hi @Nathan_Walker