Total newbie help required (UK)

Hi all I’m soon to be moving into a new home in the UK and looking for advice and recommendations please.
id like to achieve the following all controlled by iPhone if possible.

2 external cameras.
4 door sensors
external Sounder (alarm style)
control of heating
pet immune type sensors

any help is gratefully received
cheers jeff :slight_smile:

Welcome! I’ve moved this to projects so you can get individualized responses based on your own setup.

When you say control of heating, are you looking for a wall thermostat like a nest or something similar? Or are you looking for valve control for radiators?

That is, what your heating system now and how is it currently controlled? Or have you not selected the actual home yet?

Also a reminder to other members posting here that the OP is in the UK, so please confine responses to devices available there. :sunglasses:

its currently a combi boiler for the heating, with a basic room stat. and yes home selected :slight_smile:

1 Like

I might be able to help with a bit of that:

Heating - 2 that I know work well - Nest and Hive. Nest is a DIY install which replaces your thermostat on the wall ( providing you have one)

I went with Hive by British Gas, they send an engineer round to install it for you and doesn’t require a thermostat. That’s all included in the price.

External cameras depends on what you want them to do. I have a stand alone DVR system which I pipe through a program called BlueIris which means SmartThings can do bits with it. Arlo is another solution, outdoor rated and also run on battery power.

Door sensors are 10 to a dozen, SmartThings ones seem to be ok, I personally starting to like the Sensative Strips more and more as they are 10 year battery and hide in the door jam - so you can’t even see they are there…but only report open/close (whereas SmartThings one reports vibration and temperature)