New year new smarter me (UK)

Hi all,
Brand new to smart things and it’s world of possibilities- though I am a electrician by trade I’ve only ever used basic nest products, Alexa integrated lighting control etc

Anyway, I’m currently fully refurbing a house that I want to use smart things in, my question to you all is what should I do?
Things I’d like- external HIK cameras, external lighting, internal dimmable lighting, smart lock and possibly in time a automated garden gate.
Can anyone ‘design’ this system for me? Or offer guidance on zigbee/zwave products?
Id really like to create something a bit special and will be grateful of any advice given

Thanks all and a happy new year

Gareth

What part of the world do you live in Gareth ? Its pretty important due to availability of devices and frequencies

1 Like

Thanks for the reply Mike, I’m in the U.K.- South Wales.

1 Like

Welcome! Sounds like an exciting project!. :sunglasses:

There are two very different ways to go about planning a smart home. And separately, there are two very ways to think about budgeting for it.

Hobbyist or Problem Solver?

Some people come to smart homes because they are fascinated by the technology. They read about all the different devices and often tend to be early adopters, sometimes even contributing On Kickstarter to models which aren’t even in the prototype stage yet.

They are often fine with a system which needs a lot of tinkering or customising, while at the same time they tend to have An attraction to a “ One ring to rule them all“ approach and can get quite annoyed if they have to use multiple apps.

They also have a fervent belief that if a device can do something they ought to be able to make it do that, and do that in integration with all of their other devices. They will spend a lot of extra time, and even extra money, in order to unlock these “advanced“ features.“