Thinking of Switching from zipabox: anyway to use wired sensors with a smartthings system?

I’m hoping someone can help me with some question regarding the SmartThings Hub. I’ve been using a Zipato Zipabox for about 2 years now and it’s really starting to annoy me. It doesn’t support basic things like GE dimmers and their support pretty much sucks. Their iOS app is terrible and they have been “working” on it for about 18 months.

Anyway, one of the main reasons I picked it was because it supported a wire security module. That allowed me to wire in all my door / window sensors and use it as a security system as well as an automation controller.

Maybe someone can help me with a few questions?

1. How are wired sensors integrated with the ST hub? My assumption is that they aren’t and I’d need to go wireless making all my wired sensors worthless?

2. Can the ST app connect directly to my Hub or does it need to go through a ST server? I think the Zipato servers are offline more than they are online and when they are offline, nothing works.

3. Can you backup a ST hub? Meaning if mine dies, can I restore a backup should I have one available?

4. How is the battery life on wireless sensors? I have a couple in my house that I use with the Zipato and the batteries last for about 3 months regardless of the wake time interval.

Thank so much for everyone’s help. I’m trying to nail down an appropriate replacement, should I decide to go that route.

First rule of home automation: “the model number matters.“ so the answers to your sensor questions, whether it’s battery life or the ability to use wired sensors will vary depending on the specific brand/model.

1. Some wired sensors can be used with smartthings through a third-party integration called Konnected. The developer, @heythisisnate , is an active member of this community, so I will leave it to him to answer any further questions.