The New Swishy . . . SmartThings.com

The Category closest to my heart (been a designer by trade) but the most un-used one also

Ive just noticed the new swanky website design on: www.smartthings.com Im not sure if this is new as of today or as of a few days or even weeks . . . but im really impressed with the overall look and feel of it . . . i always felt the old design was unappealing as it was very bland (white washed) . . . so hats off to the team behind the latest versions . . .

Is anyone else interested in the design and branding aspect of SmartThings, or am i alone on this one ?

Is there any visual features / Improvements people would like to see implemented on the Website / IDE / Community / App / Etc . . . is there a need for snazzier (more visually appealing) aspects of the community / IDE or is it a wasted resource in the backend . . .

What are peoples views on the design / visual side of SmartThings overall . . . id love to hear peoples thoughts.

2 Likes

I’m very interested in the marketing strategies… A level above branding.

Some folks claim that Revolv’s “translucent plasticy ugly teardrop” hub design led to their demise. I sincerely doubt that was a major contribution. Similarly with SmartThings overall look & feel.

The lack of an integrated rule builder seems to be the weakest link in a DIY marketing strategy… Yet that’s no visible pre-sale. Meanwhile, SmartThings is not in the Target nor Sears smart home stores, nor “Works With Nest” – 3 possible “visible” channels it’s missing.

SmartThings total sales estimated at barely over 100,000 units.

1 Like

Snap . . . Very much interested in this also, im intrigued to see how this is marketed to the UK Market as us Brits are a very different shade of grey when it comes to Marketing & Tech adoption.