Temp sensor limits; ST_Anything

I have a Mega 256 with a 5100 shield. I have been using St_Anything for a couple of months. I already have 5 DS18 sensors that are working. I want to add another ds18 . I changed the script to give me 6 sensors. I get a new sensor that is created it ST with a temp of -196.6f. No matter what I do I cannot get that last sensor to behave. It is about 25 feet away from the Mega and the wiring is over cat5. I am using a 9v power supply to power the Arduino. All the sensors are of the same make and model, brand new. I am using the power from the Mega to power the sensors. I also have two 8 port relay cards that are also powered by the Mega. Now so far the most relays that are active is 4 at any given time. Could I be running into a low voltage issue? I can setup a separate power supply for the sensors and the relays. Any ideas are much appreciated. I need to get this last sensor working since it is in our bedroom and it needs to work a relay to turn on the heat. I live in Michigan so it will be important in the near future to get this working :))

Thanks

Tagging @ogiewon

1 Like

Are you daisy chaining all of the DS18B20 sensors together on a single pin? Or using a pin per temperature sensor?

As for the relays, yes you need to power the coils of the relay with a direct feed from a power supply. The Arduino cannot supply enough current at 5v for all of those relays.

This site has a decent explanation.

1 Like

Thanks Dan,

I am using a single pin for the sensors. So it is possible to use a pin for each sensor then? Thanks for the link to the powering the relays. I will separate power supplies this weekend then