Support for Websockets in Edge

Have tried to add support in a Edge driver for Websocket (client) using GitHub - lipp/lua-websockets: Websockets for Lua., that is written in pure Lua, without success.

Has anyone been able to add Websockets support in Edge?

1 Like

FYI, I have now managed to add support for lua-websockets in Edge. The main problem was actually a known bug regarding the implementation of PING/PONG in the module.
To make it work with the Edge event loop, I also had to adapt the code to cosock socket and cosock ssl (wss).

Adapted code here: GitHub - Goran58/lua-websockets: Websockets for Lua.

4 Likes

Hi Gol

I’m trying to add in your customised websocket library but I’m having difficulty (im a lua novice, so it’s probably something basic that I am missing)

I have downloaded the websockets library and installed it using luarocks

This is my path…

echo $LUA_PATH
/home/louis/st/stapi/lua_libs-api_v0/?.lua;/home/louis/st/stapi/lua_libs-api_v0/?/init.lua;./?.lua;./?/init.lua;/usr/local/share/lua/5.3/?.lua;/usr/local/share/lua/5.3/?/init.lua;/usr/local/lib/lua/5.3/?.lua;/usr/local/lib/lua/5.3/?/init.lua;/usr/share/lua/5.3/?.lua;/usr/share/lua/5.3/?/init.lua;;/home/louis/.luarocks/share/lua/5.3/?.lua;/home/louis/.luarocks/share/lua/5.3/?/init.lua

and websockets appears to be in /home/louis/.luarocks/share/lua/5.3/

But when i install my driver to ST i get the following in logs

2021-12-03T15:48:22.529491679+00:00 FATAL Hello World  Lua: runtime error: [string "init.lua"]:5: Module 'websocket.client' not found
stack traceback:

Is there something special i have to do to make smartthings bundle the library when i package it?

Thank you

Hi,
Instead of changing the LUA_PATH it is probably easier to copy all files from the lua-websockets src-directory to the src-directory of your Edge-driver.

Thanks, not really sure why I didn’t think of trying that.