Starting out fresh - Please RECOMMEND your favourite sensors and siren

I am new to home automation. I would like to start out with securing my home first. Can you tell me what is popular and fully compatible with ST.

• Two basement windows (2 open/close sensors, glass break sensor)
  • Three first floor windows (3 open/close sensors)
  • Front door, side door and patio door (3 open/close sensors)

There is a lot of break-in in my area where they get in the basement windows. I am not so sure whether they break the glass and then open the windows or they simply use a crowbar. The two basement windows are next to each other. I can just put a motion sensor right in front of them (we rarely go down there)

What open/close sensors is popular on the forum? Please also recommend a good motion sensor (no pets) for main floor and siren/strobe.

Is presence sensor from Samsung is needed to arm/disarm alarm when my wife and I both have an iPhone with SmartThing apps on it?

Thank you.

Motion with no pets is pretty wide open. I’ve used Aeon multisensors but they use batteries fast. However, inside you may have an option to plug it in - much better. The SmartThings SmartSense ones also work very well for me. The battery lasts a long time - about a year on some now and I just got some replacement batteries (cr123) for when they do go - at 30%. The new version is also extremely small.

I like the Aeon recessed door sensor if that fits the style of door you have. A bit of work to install it - need to drill but then it basically is out of site.

I haven’t done a wide cross test on response time, etc. but I feel that the new SmartSense motion sensors respond a bit faster than the old (gen 5 Aeon Multisensor).