Sounds or Alerts to PC?

So ive come from IRIS (Worst platform ever) But got smartthigns for home security. Seems like it is not as friendly for home security as i would like. However, i have been able to set all contact sensors, motion sensors, and even got the v2 IRIS keypad to work. My problem now, is there is no Audible noise for an intruder, i will fix this with a siren i plan on buying. But there is no “chime” for opening doors, no “Alert” for arming or unarming the alarm. As i am new to this platform, is there a way to have a PC computer located in the room to make a “sound” for certain actions i can set? I dont want to by Amazon echo, or other expensive sonos products. Any help?

1 Like

Check out the Aeon devices, which can act as a siren too. (Caveat I don’t have one, don’t care about door chimes)

If you wanted to be creative you could probably write a smart app to make a hubAction call to a remote endpoint on your PC to trigger an event.

Get this installed and working first.
VLC Thing (a smartthings app) that helps smartthings talk to the VLC media player running on the PC.
Then there are many apps that can watch and trigger spoken announcements or various chimes.
It makes the PC running VLC look like a smart speaker.

Install guide:

1 Like

The Aeon doorbell (different from the siren mentioned above) is not great as a doorbell (at least for me… the button it comes with is terrible!). But, it has slots for 100 mp3 files which you can then trigger using various smartapps. So with 100 different sound files, you can make the thing do just about anything you’d want! There’s a couple different handlers on the forum for it… I think this is the one I’m using.

https://community.smartthings.com/t/release-aeon-labs-aeotec-doorbell/39166/2?source_topic_id=51604

Sure, SmartThings is the best security system ever. And don’t take my word for it :wink: