Smartthings & Moisture Sensors

Hi all,

I’m embarking on a little project to create a system that would allow me to add several moisture sensors (like the capacitive v1.2 3-wire sensor / 0-3VDC). I plan to put this out on my vegetable patch and monitor the moisture at key positions in the bed to alert me if they are going dry. I may later decide to add a valve as I have a water butt which is elevated above the bed which could act as a dripper.

Anyway, I am an electrical designer / control panel builder so the designing and wiring of this system doesn’t scare me. But I was wondering what the best way would be to get several 0-3V sensors all reporting to Smartthings?

I was looking at the Z-Wave route originally, but unlike my industry there seems to be a lack of extra low voltage I/O units that are dedicated to a specific I/O such as analogues.

Maybe someone can steer me down the correct route, maybe it would need some sort of Arduino or RPI interface?

I don’t want to do much ST code if I can help it. I find it extremely hard to get my head around it, even though I can code complex projects in IEC61131-3.

Many thanks in advance for looking and any advice you can share.

The person you need to speak to is @iharyadi he makes this possible.
I have them controlling the watering of indoor and outdoor plants. Zigbee repeater modules with external contacts, he’s even built dth’s, very easy to set up, they have been rock solid for over a year, much better than anything commercially available. They’re also environment sensors, powered by USB.

3 Likes

Thank you, Alwas!

Will check this out for sure. I haven’t had much experience with Zigbee as all my home devices are Z-Wave so will be good to look at something new.

The other option I was looking at was the Z-Wave Z-Uno Shield, but trying to get one seems hard.

I personally am veering away from Z-Wave regarding SmartThings and generally, Zigbee is more reliable.

1 Like