SmartLights Turn Off after x minutes after presence is detected

Hey All,

I need a little help with getting the smart lights app…I have it set to turn on a bunch of lights (front door light) when presence is detected…but I haven’t found a way to turn them off …say after X amount of minutes…any help would be greatly appreciated

1 Like

you can go about it a couple ways. you can install the smart app ‘turn it off after awhile’ but that would turn that set of switches off after the set time, no matter how they got turned on.

you can also set up Rule Machine that would let you set it up all together, turning on X lights when motion detected, and then turn off X lights after Y minutes, as well. Along with many other possible things you can automate with the app.

Hi Toasty,

Thanks for the feedback…I will check into this further. It just seems that this is a simple thing to do but appears complicated to setup. I am very new to SmartThings and I have a very strong technical background but quite honestly I find the system cumbersome and complicated to setup. I think what makes it a bit more difficult is the fact that there is no web UI that you can set rules for smart apps up from a computer. Any information that anyone can provide is helpful, before I decide to return all of my sensors and hub and try something different (wink or verde) . Thanks!

To be more specific: The “off timer” (minutes) is a bit hidden in a weird location within the SmartLights app.
Just create a new routine within the SmartLights app, select the switch you want to control, and then trigger based on “POWER ALLOWANCE.” (I think it’s the LAST choice, at the bottom of the screen/page?..)

Within POWER ALLOWANCE, you can actually set it to trigger based on “MINUTES” the device has been on/operating.