Smart Bulb / Smart switches clarification (Italy)

Dear all, I was not able to find a similar request, sorry but I’m a bit newbie.

My need is to integrate a full smart light in the house, but I have a big doubt.

Example: Buying only smart bulb, keeping the existing switches:

in this case, if I turn off the light from switches, the light will not be possible to be controlled remotely, since the current is not available with the switch turned off.

How this issue can be solved?

So I was thinking, probably it is better FIRST to replace the existing switches, with the smart model. Then I will be able to turn on/off the light, manually by switches, but also remotely, from the same switches. And this is fine.

BUT, If I want to have also the dimmer function, I think I will need also to add smart bulb.

Then here is the question. Is this the right solution? I mean, having a smart switch that will control the light, but at the same time the light is connected to the system by itself?

Does not create confusion? What I am missing, please?

Thanks for help

Elisa

1 Like

You need a smart dimmer switch and dumb LED bulbs that are dimmable.

1 Like

This is a very common question and you have correctly identified the major issues. :sunglasses:.

We have a community FAQ that should help if you decide you do want to use smart bulbs. However, we do need to know what country you are in as the device selection does vary.

So…first the short answer.

For existing lights that have a wall switch, it is almost always easiest to use a smart switch with dumb bulbs. Also less expensive. And as @Paul_Oliver noted, you can get a smart dimmer switch which will work fine with dimmable dumb bulbs.