Requesting Assistance re: Ethernet Cable Choices

Newbie here. I need to buy hundreds of feet of cat5 ethernet cable, to do in-home DIY installation of POE Amcrest cameras with an NVR. I read that Monoprice is a good place to buy ethernet cables. But when I search there on “cat5 ethernet cable” there are so many choices - different kinds and colors! What do you folks advise?

you don’t want cat5 its pretty rare now anyway, you want CAT5e at least. CAT5e is capable of carrying 1Gbit ethernet, CAT5 can only take 100 Mbits. If you want something a bit better with not a massive cost difference then go for CAT6.

3 Likes

Agree, from what I’ve read, cat6 is better for longer runs, and the price differential is small.

If you’re buying that much, then consider buying bulk cable then learn how to cut and terminate the ends yourself to make several cables. It should be a lot cheaper than buying several different patch cables (which are never the exact length you want anyway).

Also where is all this cable going? Inside your walls? On your walls along the baseboards/moulding? In-wall cable is rated to be more fire resistant (at least I think that’s the difference).

2 Likes

OK, I will buy cat5e ethernet cable in bulk and learn how to cut and terminate the ends. Will I need to use a soldering iron?

Some of the cables will run along the floor of the attic, and some will be installed inside walls. I don’t think any baseboards will be involved. I will look to get in-wall cable.

At Monoprice, for a search for cat5e ethernet cable, there are choices such as riser-rated, in-wall rated, plenum-rated, solid, stranded. All are 350MHz and most are 24AWG. They all say “Bare Copper” or “Bare Cable Copper” but the pictures all show covered wires. What kind should I get?

Do the colors mean something? Or should I just buy whatever color happens to strike my fancy at the moment? :slight_smile:

TL/DR -