Recover device status after power outage

Hello, I am trying to develop an application to recover the devices status after a power outage.
I’m planning to use a battery powered Arduino + Shield to store the devices status and keep that information during the outage. As soon as the power came back, the Arduino will send the command to turn on to all devices that were turned on before the outage.
Does anybody know if there is an smartapp similar to this, or have any idea for me?
I am a newbie smartthings developer and still don’t have all the knowledge required to develop this app.
I don’t know where to start my search.
Thanks in advance

Here is my CoRE solution that I’m very happy with in my world of ST.

Another thing you can set into motion with CoRE are ‘Sanity Checks’. Little scripts that would turn things off when you know they should be off. For example, nobody is home during the day, so every day at noon, create a CoRE piston that turns off all the lights. Maybe set the same piston to fire off at 3AM for good measure.

1 Like

Obviously everyone has their own needs in this regard, but just something to keep in mind in general engineering best practices it’s fine to turn the lights back on after a power outage, but you typically leave everything else off until a human has reviewed it.

This is for two separate safety reasons.

First, you don’t know what caused the outage when you design the program, and it may have been a faulty or broken device. You don’t always want to turn that one back on right away, particularly if, say, it’s giving off smoke. :wink: