Random on/off for wave-maker pump in aquarium?

Hi all,

Brand new user here and I have a strange request. I bought 2 Aeon Smartstrips and I’m using the outlets to automate lights and pumps on an aquarium. It took a little messing around since these power-strips are not individually switched outlets, but I made it work with some code from this site that created virtual switches and then a smartapp that calls these individually. All is good there.

The only need left unanswered is a way to randomly (3-5 times per hour) turn one of those virtual switches on and off. I’m planning to plug a wave-maker pump in this outlet and need it to run intermittently throughout the day. I have zero coding experience and just copied and pasted code from links to make the other things work through the IDE. Any chance someone here can help out with some code?

Thanks in advance,

Willem

Take some time and familiarize yourself with webCoRE. It is not that complicated once you understand the lingo. I promise!

Would also be a good time to get a handle on Github which is like a super depository for the super nerds. Good thing is once you have it linked to SmartThings, it’s as easy as adding the account, selecting the App or DTH and checking Publish and magically it all appears in your SmartThings account!

webCoRE is the Rule Engine of all Rule Engines that can do most of what SmartThings has to offer.

Seriously, take an hour or so, do a little reading and then you will be able to do whatever you like.

Thanks. I’ll check that out.

i would be really hesitant using smartthings to control anything in a pricey salt water aquarium.

So I got webCoRe up and running and set a piston. I’ll know in 15 minutes if it works :wink:

Why is Smartthings a bad idea to time lights and switch pumps? Am I missing something, like reliability issues?

Thanks again, it works like a charm. Not hard to figure out at all.

1 Like