Question about Smart Vents (2019)

Any tips for using these things so that it doesn’t damage your HVAC system? I have many issues with hot spots in the house but the house isn’t big enough for another zone.

Also have the ecobee thermostat with sensors in all the problem areas. It’s a good start but, I can see that venting is going to be a major factor to stop these hot zones while rooms are not occupied.

What would you do?

After reading a lot about the issues you can cause by closing too many vents (mostly related to air pressure and the undue strain on the blower), I changed my mind on wanting to install smart vents. An HVAC company may be able to help you by potentially installing return vents in the problematic rooms, and/or adding an inline blower to areas that are not getting enough air. This, of course, is if the balancing of the air duct baffles doesn’t fix the issue. I am not an AC expert but this is what I concluded after doing my research to resolve your same issue.

That is the problem with this house. The duct and return system was just redone, maybe not properly but it was just done. The office averages 7 degrees hotter than the rest of the house and it’s to the point where I have a fan blowing cooler air from the living room to the office.

It’s 110+ in Phoenix these days, so, it’s just not much fun to work in the office during the summer months, even at night.

At this point, I’m out of options and think I could steal some air from the master bedroom, kitchen and living room to push more air out in the office. Which is also the smallest room and vent in the house.

Is there a return duct in the office? Do you keep the door open or closed most of the time?