Pulling my hair out trying to wire GE12723 & 12724 (4-way) HELP!

Ok, so I’ve successfully wired these switches in my foyer in the 4-way config controlling two ceiling light fixtures, however I’m absolutely stumped on the upstairs lights. I have three boxes. I can get the master and one slave to work placing them at either end but no matter what I do the slave in box 2 will not work. I’ve tried another known good slave so I’ve ruled out a defective switch. I only have a super cheap multimeter but as far as I can tell with all 3 boxes unhooked, wires exposes, and the breaker live there is power going to the lower right white wire (line wire?) in box 1 and the white wires in box 2 (I tapped there for my neutral…?). I’m usually the one fixing people’s problems in other forums but A) I’m really a beginner with home improv stuff, and B) I’ve just hit a mental wall at this point and the wife’s not very happy that there’s no lights upstairs, lol.

Box 1 is downstairs next to the front door. I’m assuming this is the start of the circuit due to the live power line? (EDIT: Apparently not initial live wire)

Box 3 is at the other end of the upstairs hallway near the master bedroom. 4 romex cable into this box: 3- 2wire+ground & 1- 3wire+ground. (EDIT: Appears to have original hot line in)

Box 2 is at the top of the stairs

In the main box, there should be a 3+ ground wire that goes to box 2. Its not completely clear, but you may not be sending neutral from the main box to the second box, and from there to the third. The pictures just aren’t clear enough.

When I’ve done my 4+ way switches, it has been done as follows:

1. Assume box 1 has line, box 3 has load.
  2. Connect line, neutral, traveler, load to main box.
  3. Going to box 2 should be load, neutral and traveller.
  4. In box 2, cap load together and bypass the switch. Connect neutral and traveller from 1 to switch, also connect neutral and traveller going to 3 to the switch.