Poll or subscribe example (to network events)

Hi all

Total newbie to smartthings and certainly to writing device types.

I’ve searched and searched but cant find any example of how to create a device type that will listen for network events using hub action. I found the below but not sure if this should be done in a device type or a smart app.

I am essentially trying to integrate smarthings with a raspberry pi which will detect motion and send an event or notify smartthings. I have been able to connect with smartthings to the pi (and parsing the results) but I essentially want the communication the other way around (pi to smarthings)

def someCommand() {
    subscribeAction("/pi/motion")
}

private subscribeAction(path, callbackPath="") {
    log.debug "subscribe($path, $callbackPath)"
    def address = getCallBackAddress() 	//address of hub
    def ip = getHostAddress() 			//address of device to connect to

def result = new physicalgraph.device.HubAction(
        method: "SUBSCRIBE",
        path: path,
        headers: [
            HOST: ip,
            CALLBACK: "<http://${address}/notify$callbackPath>",
            NT: "upnp:event",
            TIMEOUT: "Second-28800"
        ]
    )

log.debug "SUBSCRIBE $path"

return result
}

Many thanks in advance
JJ

Connection to Domoticz defined devices like Blinds and On/Off switches maybe this solution works for you. If not as a solution take a look at the code it does the things you want to do in both directions. Have fun.

1 Like

Hi Martin,

Appreciate you posting the link but i am struggling finding the device types in the git repo.

If you can point me more specifically to a device type that listens for a Subscribe on a path (i.e. can listen to my pi sending events to it).

Many thanks in advance.

Jonathan

Hi Jonathan, sorry for the confusion, these are done in smartapps, not in the device.