Noob tinkerer

Hi there. I’m new to SmartThings and like what I see so far. I like to tinker and am trying to make rules that are quite specific. I’m experimenting with a lamp in my office. I would like to have it turn on when it senses motion - that part works great. But I would like to restrict it so it will only do it when it’s dark out. I’ve got it set up so it will trigger after sunset, but that’s only half of what I’m looking for. I’m often up quite early - before sunrise. I’m having some difficulty figuring out how to setup this last part. Can anyone assist?

Welcome! Tinkerers generally do very well with SmartThings. :wink:

What method are you using for the restriction: Hello Home Action, Shortcut Groups, Smart Setup smartapp, or custom smartapp? Different options are available with each.

It also depends whether you want the light to also come on during the day if it’s a certain level of darkness. There are community members who solve this with hardware by adding a luminescence sensor, which is the easiest way to tie it to the specific amount of light in the room.

But if you’re only looking for something that runs at night, then many people will just tie it to the mode, or a time range. For example, at my house, the mode "night " is different than the mode “asleep.” When the house is in night mode, motion turns on the overhead lights. But when the house is in asleep mode, motion just turns on a softer nightlight. That way somebody going to the kitchen for midnight snack doesn’t wake up the whole house. :pizza: :bulb:

So it also depends on the details of what you want.v

1 Like