New to the Game! (UK)

Hi All,

I’m wondering if anyone can help me. I’m new to home automation and smart home systems so I would appreciate any advice, trust me it’s all useful.

To give some context, I have a wide range of smart devices that I use currently. Due to me being quite new, I have had a bit of an ad-hoc approach and have never stuck to one particular brand or format. I’m still learning about it all and to be honest, some of it is slightly overwhelming. Which is where I am hoping you helpful people will come in! :slight_smile:

The systems I use currently are as follows:

tpLink Kasa Smart Lights (No Hub)
tpLink Kasa Smart Plugs (No Hub)
IKEA Tradfri Smart Lighting (Gateway Hub insitu)
HIVE Smart Heating (Hive Hub insitu)

I’m getting quite frustrated with the different systems and hubs that are required for these devices, I know there is only two thus far but I much prefer a universal approach and this is the ultimate aim. And I’m also hoping to free up some Ethernet ports! Anyway I digress…I use Google Home Assistant currently to integrate the features across these separare brands, but the separate physical hubs is somethings that bothers me as I’m somewhat of a minimalist shall we say.

However, to spare the expense of replacing all of the different ecosystems with one specific ecosystem (like I have indeed considered in the past), I am wondering whether the SmartThings Hub would be able to integrate and centralise all of these different systems for me, so I can cease using the separate hubs and just use the ST one instead? I hope this doesn’t seem like too much of an obvious question, but I really don’t have a clue otherwise. I only know the very basics but I keep reading about ST everywhere so it is only worth me asking. Advanced users…please be patient with me, as I do appreciate it.

Basically, what I’m really wanting to know is how can the SmartThings Hub benefit me and my situation as it stands above, in the simplest of terms?