New Home -- Heres my todo list :)

Hello Everyone,
My name is Direwolf20, and I’m currently building a new home, it’ll probably be ready in September. As such, I am waiting for the new Smart Things Hub 2.0 to get started with home automation. Currently I have almost 0 experience here, but I work in IT by trade (MCSE) and have some programming experience, so this is right up my alley :).

That said, I plan the following, and was hoping for some feedback from you, the community, who know loads more about this stuff than I do so far ;). I’ll be working with an electrician as my new house goes up, so have the opportunity to get stuff in before walls go up, etc. I’m hoping to get a few things in first, and then add more later, as I find new an interesting things I’ll want to do. Heres my first phase plans.

Your feedback is MOST appreciated. I’d love to hear if theres a couple things I should consider adding to or changing on the below list. Thanks everyone! :smile:

As a new user, I couldn’t post more than 2 links, so I dropped them into pastebin:
http://pastebin.com/UFeL1mSM

I gather the thermostat MAY NOT be controllable via Smart Things (Anyone happen to know?) – Worst case it’ll have its own separate app. The reviews on nest are so all over the place that I got a little nervous, and this thermostat looks pretty slick, and has great reviews, but I’d be happy to hear feedback to the contrary :).

Finally, I’m somewhat interested in motorized blinds for the windows, but I gather they might be a bit expensive. Anyone have any recommendations on that front?

Again, thanks for any advice you can toss my way :).

4 Likes

Door lock, I have 4 of these on my house and I love them :smile:

Garage Door Opener, I have 2 of these and they work great.