New Guy Getting Started

Hi All…

I’m just getting started with ST. I have a hub, some Hue White bulbs, a Leviton appliance module and a GE outdoor lighting control module coming on Monday.

I have been using X10 to control lights for years and the X10 controller died, so it’s a good time to upgrade. I’m going to start out with a few lights and a coffee maker and expand from there. I also plan on integrating with Echo.

What apps or other devices do you all recommend for a newbie?

Also, what resources should I go through to make this all easier?

Thanks!

…ron

1 Like

Welcome!

As far as resources, there are two FAQs you might find helpful.

Getting Started

This one is the intro to scheduling:

And this one explains how custom code is used in SmartThings. You don’t need to use custom code, but there’s a lot of it available, and it can add many features to the base system.

In addition, check out the quick browse lists for Project Reports in the community – created wiki, in particular the “get started” list. It has things like “the top 10 things to do with home automation” and “what device should I get next?” Which should be helpful.

There’s also a list of “impress your friends” projects with everything from a magic wand to a secret bookcase room. You probably know all of these in general terms, but these will discuss them in a SmartThings context.

You’ll also find list of smartapps organized by function, which are considerably easier to review then just Using the forum search here. :sunglasses:

http://thingsthataresmart.wiki/index.php?title=How_to_Quick_Browse_the_Community-Created_SmartApps_Forum_Section

Let’s see, what else?

To Infinity and Beyond: CoRE

Since someone’s bound to bring it up in the first post or two in this thread, if you’re technical, check out CORE. But if it seems too complicated, don’t worry about it to begin with, you can add it or not later if you find that you want that degree of complexity in your home automation rules.