Network design for 24 outbuildings? (Best protocol, etc)

Folks Newbie here, so apologies if this has already been discussed in the past?

Am running a large animal sanctuary which has 24 individual buildings. Buildings are irregularly spaced apart, some are within 5 feet of each other, others could be more. All buildings do have main power. IF I wanted to “Mesh” these buildings together, back to the Samsung Hub, we are talking about 100-300 feet distance from the furthest sensor back to the hub. Would a ZigBee, or Zwave plus network, as implemented in the smartthings hub, be able to cope with this??? … say… having 24 individual sensors relaying data via each other back to the Hub. I can’t move the hub to be more central as this would involve a lot of wire running back to the Router.

I am aware that “meshing” WiFi could be another approach, but again… I am loath to run extra cables unless I absolutely have to.
The sensors will only be used to relay temperature data and depending on other matters, might be used to trigger smart outlet sockets which could turn the electric heaters on or off.

Would this type of “meshing” have bandwidth and delay implications, as each sensor (or plug) would most likely be talking to its next-door neighbour, who in turn talks to his neighbour, until such time that the signal finally has made it back to the Hub ???
Fortunately… I am in a low RFI interference environment as we are located in the boondocks.-

Suggestions and advice gratefully received.
Albert

Sounds like a very exciting project! :sunglasses:

First of all, personally I would never run this kind of operation on smartthings assuming that the health of the animals might be affected. It’s just not reliable enough. In fact, the official product usage guidelines warn about the same thing:

https://www.smartthings.com/guidelines