Multiple motion sensors required to trigger intrusion alarm

I am relatively new to SmartThings, and I’m trying to convert from Lowes Iris. On both platforms, I find many of the motion sensors are too sensitive. Iris had a simple setting to require multiple sensors to be activated prior to triggering an alarm. (i.e. intruder opens a door and then walk into view of a motion sensor, or breaks window and moves past two motion sensors).

I’d like to set this up with the Smart Home Monitor, but I only see how to include/exclude certain sensors and not to require multiple before triggering the alarm. Any suggestions on how to handle this and avoid unnecessary false alarms? I’m using Hub v2

There isn’t any stock behavior that I’m aware of to do that. I can think of two possibilities.

One is a custom virtual device type that aggregates all the sensors into one uber-sensor. That custom device type would have the logic on when to trigger based on which and how many sensors were active in a certain time period.

The other is a custom smart app to replace Smart Home Monitor.

However, it might be worth looking at the cause of the sensitivity problems. Are they being caused pets? In that case using an “armed stay” mode where motion sensors are ignored might be more appropriate (and you get out of the box). Are the sensors outside? A lot of the motion sensors seem prone to false positives when used outside. Or is it something else going on?

1 Like

Thanks for the ideas. I’m not familiar with the virtual device, so I’ll check into that.

I don’t have pets, so that’s not what’s causing the alarms. I can’t actually figure out what is, perhaps sunlight/shadow movement or other temperature changes causing the sensor to move.

Right now the sensor is just sitting on a window ledge, I was holding off on mounting it until I had tested it for a bit. I am impressed with how quickly it responds to actual motion.