Multiple Lights on double gang switch

Seems like this would have been a topic, but the suggestion pop-up didn’t address it. Situation is as follows:
Single gang switch box with a double gang switch, i.e. two SPST in a single gang form factor. They obviously control two different lighting circuits in the same room. Each lighting circuit has multiple bulbs at the fixture. Smart bulbs and the use of a scene seems absurd. The cost would be ginormous and bulbs burn out eventually. So, the solution needs to be a single node control for each circuit. Problem is the switch box size. My intuition says to make this easy by breaching the wall and simply putting in a double gang box. I’m wondering if any one has thought about creative solutions to this scenario? I’m a newbie in the z wave world and don’t really have the products memorized yet. I would also like to, if possible, stay with latest generation products, and at the least be all Plus enabled. Thoughts? Thank you in advance.

Search dual relay.

:sunglasses: Leviton VRCS2. Very popular in the community for just this purpose, particularly for bathrooms where one toggle controls the light and the other toggle controls the small exhaust fan. You’ll need the custom device type handler to make it work with SmartThings.

That said, Leviton is in the process of replacing most of its line with new Z wave plus versions, so this particular one may be a little difficult to find and the new one isn’t out yet.

2 Likes

Lots of food for thought now that I know dual relays exist. A gripe I’ve had on duplex receptacles was that they only controlled half of the receptacle. Seems like the dual relay technique could be used for such an application. Anyone doing that?