Mode or Hello, Home Phrase contains commas

(Micheal ) #1

For any experienced SmartThings coders, I am new to this so excuse this if it is simplistic.

I have some modes and Hello, home phrases that contain punctuation. For example “Asleep, Sleep In” or “Good Bye, going out of town”.

When I have an input that allows for multiple entries of modes, then I go to the event and try to determine if the current mode is within the selection. I am using the ‘contains’ and ‘find’ options with the mode string, but this always seems to fail when there is this punctuation in the mode name. This makes sense in some respects; when I look at the ‘settings’ that are put forth, it appears to comma delimit the list. My obvious solution is to remove the punctuation, but if I want to publish this for others that seems like a hack work around…Any idea what I am doing wrong?

(Tim Slagle) #2

Please provide the code.

(Micheal ) #3

I knew you would ask :smile:

Here are the snippets:

preferences
input “mode”, “mode”, required: true, multiple: true, title: “Modes?”

def initialize() {
subscribe(location, “mode”, locationHandler)
}

def locationHandler(evt) {
if (mode.contains(evt.value)) {
Do something
}
}

(Tim Slagle) #4

Looks good to me. It may be an issue with the comma. Commas generally are considered seperators. Can you try removing the comma from one and test?

(Micheal ) #5

Sorry I wasn’t clear…when I remove them everything works great…using the code above, here is where I run into issues:

Modes:

Home
Away
Asleep
Asleep, Sleep in

On the input, I select Asleep, sleep in and Away,

When I change modes to Away, the conditions are met and everything is good. When I choose Asleep, sleep in the conditions ACT as they are not met, but if I do a debug it does show evt.value=Asleep, Sleep In. Removing the comma in the name works fine.