SmartThings Community

Mesh Wi-Fi, is it what it's chalked up to be?

project_router

(Jason "The Enabler" as deemed so by @Smart) #1

A trend that started last year was the Mesh WiFi system. These seemingly easy to setup, plug and play looking devices that cost a lot for the ones with the good reviews. I have been doing some research lately as my router is right at 3 years old… and my network performance has been suffering, a lot!

I found quite a few options out there. Just buy the kit, register the smartapp, plug in everything and go… kind of like the commercial I’ve seen on TV. But there was something I kept seeing that I just didn’t like. I’m a tech guy. I like to mess with things… ie break things and figure out how to fix them. Well, these off the shelf kits didn’t seem to give you the capabilities of a regular WiFi system… as in I couldn’t go in there and screw with settings till it broke.

And then, last week I found myself at BestBuy with the box in my hands… and I almost shelled out the $400.00 for that box… almost.

I decided to do a little more research and exercise all of the options.

First stop was MoCa. That step was fast, It just wasn’t going to happen.

Second step was Powerline Ethernet. I did some research and found the best reviewed item and went to get it. I was and was not impressed.

Now, I’ll give you some background on my little problem. I pay for a 100/10 cable internet into my home. I also have a 24mb/s ADSL into the house (which sucks so bad that I actually do not use it). My system would normally run around 60mb/s, on a good day, at 2am. But that was ok because at that time it was only 60/5 internet. I have 9 people in my house, at least 4 xbox’s, a gaming computer, 6 or 7 tv’s, netflix, 13 Alexa devices, and more wi-fi devices than I can count.

I honestly began to wonder if my system was overloaded and bottlenecking…