Location mode vs member location

I am new to smartthings, and tried searching for the answer, but can’t find it.
When creating an automation, what does adding a location mode do? I understand member location…If you are away/ at the house that can trigger other actions. But, I don’t see where you can change what location mode you are in, so what is the point in using it?

I think the easiest way to understand location.mode is just through examples. :sunglasses: it’s a way of telling the SmartThings system to use different automations for the same devices depending on the mode that you are in.

Here’s one simple example from my house.

There is a motion sensor that will get triggered when someone walks into the bedroom.

During the day, triggering that motion sensor does nothing. That’s when the location.mode is just “home.” Just the normal Daytime mode.

Then 15 minutes before sunset, there is an automation that automatically changes the location.mode to “night.“

Once the mode is Night, If someone goes into the bedroom, then the overhead light will come on because the motion sensor is tripped. So far, so good. The light doesn’t come on during the day, it does come on at night.

Then when I’m ready to go to bed, there is another automation which changes the location.mode to “asleep.“ and now if the motion sensor is tripped, instead of the overhead light coming on, a soft night light on the wall comes on.

At seven in the morning, Another automation changes the location.mode back to “home.”

So there you are. The same device, The motion sensor on the way into the bedroom. Several different automations. And different outcomes, based on location.mode.

When the mode is “home,“ which is our normal daytime mode, tripping the motion sensor doesn’t do anything.

When the mode is “night,” tripping the motion sensor turns on the overhead light.

And when the mode is “asleep,” tripping the motion sensor does not turn on the overhead light. It turns on the nightlight instead.