Interesting Ideas for Vacation Rental?

Hello guys!

I am a complete noob and have not bought a smart home system. I’ve been wanting to add some flair to a vacation rental. Do you guys have any input on some cool ideas that I can implement or that you would enjoy in a vacation rental. I was thinking:

1. Lights come on when entering the bathroom
    2)Smart lock with arrival sensor

Excited to see what awesome ideas you guys have. Thank you so much

I have a vacation lake home that is decently hooked up. I don’t rent it out but family and friends stay there often. One thing I’ve noticed is that automation can be somewhat unnerving when you’re not sure whats going on. You realize less is more the first time those bathroom lights automatically turn off after x minutes on someone who tends to take x + 5 min showers. :smile: Something that seems intuitive and helpful to you might really confuse a renter… Something to keep in mind.

With that said the biggest wins for me have been wifi thermostat (ecobee), zwave door lock (yale), sonos amp power dock speakers, laundry monitor, SmartTiles for granular access.

Thermostat likely needs no explanation having house at a comfortable temperature before anyone gets there is a big win. Same with door lock, having the ability to give family/friends temporary codes and getting notification when those codes are used is very nice. Everyone has really liked the Sonos amp powering the dock speakers. People like being able to play stations they listen to at home or pandora/spotify. I keep a tablet down there that is locked down to Sonos and a SmartTiles for control. SmartTiles is setup to allow access to a subset of things like lights, window AC units, fans, but not stuff like the door lock. Finally the laundry monitor has been unexpectedly nice. Our laundry is in the basement and its easy to forget what you have going on down there. Having it text when done or turn on a light upstairs is a nice reminder.

1 Like

Oh wow!