IFTTT Virtual vs Simulated Switches

Hi All

I am fairly new to Smartthings and the smart home. I recently am trying to set up my smart house but ditching my old wired alarm system and hooking everything up to the Konnected system. I installed a few iPads around the house running SharpTools to interface all the lights and switches across the house. Most of the switches in the house are the Itead Sonoff ewelink with a few TP-link Kasas for the 3-way light switches. I have absolutely no problem with the TP-links. I got about 20 Sonoffs installed and are running their original firmware (non-flashed). I am using IFTTT to make them work with Smartthings via a Smartthings hub V3 and virtual switches. I paid for both the IFTTT pro and ewelink advance so that it still works nowadays.

The problem that I am running across is that smartthings sometimes is not recognizing the state of the Sonoff switches if it is turned on or turned off by something else other than through the smartthings app/ sharptools or if I mix and match the triggers (such as turning it on via smartthings but turning it off my the manual switch… smartthings will sometimes think the switch is still on but i turned it off manually). As far as I can tell, everything is setup correctly in IFTTT (4 applets per switch for all combinations).

I think the issue is IFTTT is not communicating with my locally ran virtual switches that the state has changed most of the time. I am wondering if I should convert the virtual switches to the cloud based simulated switches? I read that samsung will move away from the cloud based switches eventually but I need to get this to work now. Plus the delay from Smartthings VSwitch to IFTTT to ewlink is horrible. I really do not want to flash each and every Sonoff since they are already installed in the walls behind all the light switches.

Thanks for your help!!!