I need to stop lights turning on while baby is sleeping

(Daniel) #1

I have the lights in my nursery set to turn on when motion is detected which is awesome!! But now that the baby is starting to nap in her crib and i want to be able to quickly disable the motion sensing for the over head lights in just her room.

I have tried to create a new mode “baby sleeping” that disables the motion sensing in that room and it seems to work fine, but the problem is that the only way i can find to change the mode is from my smart tiles interface. I need it to be as easy as possible for my wifes sake.

I would love to have it setup so that if i double click the smart light switch in her room it will automatically change the homes mode to baby sleeping. It would also be nice to double tap it in the on position to get everything back to my normal home mode.

Any advice would be great, im not good at writing smart apps yet… :frowning:

Turn light off after no motion, but not if it was manually turned on

In order for double tap to work, you have to have a smart switch that will transmit the double tap. What model switch are you using? If you already have a switch installed that will transmit a double tap, then the existing double tap SmartApp might be a place to start. #6 under convenience in the following topic.

Yet another option is a mode control toggle. You can use this as a wall switch or just on the table. I really like it.

(Daniel) #3

Here is the switch i have.
GE In-Wall Toggle Switch (On/Off) $47.00

I got it right out of the smartthings store. will it work with what i am trying to do?

Just to be clear, paddle or toggle? Dimmer or not?

(Daniel) #5

no dimmer, toggle switch

edit: Thanks so much for being a great ST community member JD. You have seemed to answer most of my questions on my previous posts and it seems like a lot of other peoples too