How to use existing remote for garage and gate control?

Hello,

So I am new to ST and I see why folks may want to use a wired version for a garage door opener but it seems more complex (still simple tho) then it should be.

I would like a recommendation on 2 options. Is there a device, like a universal garage door opener that exists that would work with ST. To clarify something that could learn and code and send it lets say 200ft? As a secondary option, what is the best way to use the existing remote that already has 500ft of range to work with ST? Example a switch hardwired into the remote and would activate it, pretty crude method but simple I would imagine.

Thanks,
Ryan a ST newbie

This is the best value “official” option I think…

Meanwhile… Yes, you can “hot wire” your existing wall switch or maybe the existing remote with various ZigBee, Z-Wave, or ThingShield relays, but you still need a contact or Tilt sensor, and are possibly violating building safety codes.

Unfortunately, Neither of these methods Will work with SmartThings.

Smartthings supports two primary wireless protocols: Zwave and zigbee (using the home automation profile). You can also access cloud to cloud with many web services, including IFTTT. And that’s pretty much it.

Most garage door openers use 433 MHz or maybe 334. SmartThings does not have an antenna for either of these, so it can neither send nor hear these transmissions.

For garage doors, most people use the zwave garage door opener which is on the official “works with smartthings” list. It’s from Linear but is marketed under a number of different brands including Nutone and go control. It typically costs about $85 and will work with most garage doors.

https://www.smartthings.com/compatible-products