How do I turn off a bathroom exhaust fan when humidity is below a threshold

I would like to control my Bathroom exhaust fan to do this:

1. Turn on when motion is detected - done
  2. Turn off after motion stops but only if humidity is below a certain threshold
  3. Stop after 30 minutes, after the last motion detect.

Appreciate if some could point me to a solution.

There are a few options. There are probably a few standard rules you could use in conjunction to do this, but not 100% sure on that. Webcore is another option, and probably your quickest solution to get up and running. I personally like to mess round with code so I write my own smartapps. Just take one of the apps available and modify it to meet your needs. For that, of coarse, you need some programming abilities, it’s not too heavy and there are lot’s of examples out there to pull from.;

3 Likes

I would suggest WebCoRE. I’m not a programmer, and I use it for all of my automations. The Wiki does an excellent job of explaining how to get it working. Once you’ve got that done, creating pistons with custom rules is generally a point-and-click solution. There is a very active and helpful community dedicated just to WebCoRE.

2 Likes

Webcore is an option. If you don’t want to dive into custom code quite yet, you can also use “Humidity Alert!” in the app marketplace under Climate Control.

2 Likes

I use an app on here I found called “Smart Humidity Fan” from @johnathan398 that works really well.

Here is the SmartApp:

1 Like

Thank you, looks like exactly what I need - Will give it a try

1 Like

This may be a bit of an overkill for what you’re looking for, it’s designed for whole home management for temperature and humidify and supports a variety of different devices you can use to control both.

2 Likes