Homebridge install on Mac - Smarthings now not working

Hi all

So after a couple of days messing around I finally got my homebridge running on my Mac. Mac is always on. This was a test to see how it works and what I get before probably getting a RPi.

I got everything running in Apple home, however when I then tried to use smartthings to turn a set of lights on, it wouldn’t control them. Messing around I tried several individual bulbs and none worked.

Deleted the homebridge and they started working again in smartthings.

So is this a known issue? Did I do something wrong?

Any ideas please as I assume I should be able to control still via smartthings as well as Apple home

Thanks

Tagging @pizzinini

Hi - I assume you used this method to install Homebridge? This is the latest one.

(You can also install the SmartThings plugin through the GUI and the SmarThings app through the ST-Community-Installer).

I have been running different versions of Homebridge on RPi for a couple years now… but have never seen that behavior. So my guess, control through the SmartThings app not working is not related to Homebridge.

I noticed that the Apple Home app interface is sometimes a bit slow, including refesh or status. I suggest you try voice control with Siri. That usually works faster for me.

2 Likes

Yes I did use that method… although I seem to recall using a version 2 of the integration. I will try again and see what I get

The “V2” is the current version of the SmartThings plugin. If you install the smartapp through the “ST-Community-Installer”, this is the version you get.

[EDIT: I just saw that both versions are actually available in the installer. You do need v2 though to work with the new version of Homebridge]

If you cant resolve the issue I suggest you also post in this thread for help:

THere are many people smarter then me! :wink:

1 Like

I was using wink hubs for a few GE link bulbs and also an Outlink for a my tankless heater.