Home Security With Some Automation - ST + Abode (or Scout or ?)

(Matthew Greig) #1

I’m looking for some recommendations after spending the last two weeks reading everything I could find on the subject of Security and Automation. Basically, I’d love to know what folks would do today if they had the opportunity to build greenfield.

Here are my general requirements:

1. I really don’t like monthly fees. I may be able to swallow something like $10’ish/month (particularly if there’s an annual discount) - but no way am I paying $40+/month for subscriptions

2. In general, I don’t want to spend a lot. The idea of being able to link different systems together is appealing so I’m not getting gouged from one manufacturer (Apple et al…)

3. I work IT for a living so can engineer/figure most things out - but it doesn’t mean I really want to spend my time debugging/trouble-shooting ever week.

4. Integration is nice/ideal but I’ll take “just works” over integration

5. I don’t like the idea of Cloud-dependent … (ironic I now realize - didn’t fully appreciate SmartThing’s near 100% dependency on Internet connectivity/cloud)

I currently have not installed anything so have a greenfield environment and my plan was to have only SmartThings as the central hub and use it as a security first/automation second platform. After reading about all the issues, outages, resetting, Cloud-dependencies, etc… that seems like a bad idea. I’m kind of questioning using SmartThings at all honestly but there don’t seem to be a lot of other good alternatives and the community support here seems like the best.

What I think I’m leaning towards is:

1. Abode for security (long-term will likely go with the no-service (free) option and then add monitoring when gone on vacation but there are some attractive one-year, fully monitored options that I will probably go with if I go this route.

2. Blue Iris for security camera + ?Amcrest? cameras and a PC w/ HDD (have lots laying around)