Home automation suggestion

Hi there, newbie here.

I’m planning about automating things around the house. I want to maintain the budget as low as possible. One crucial thing is everithing working manually if internet or WiFi are not available for some reasons. I don’t need wife yelling at me for something not working at least as usual.

I was thinking about using SONOFF MINI as WiFi relays + Shelly RGBW as Wifi dimmers.
I plan to use IKEA 2 buttons switch as additional commands were needed.

Is this a good setup?

I was also thinking about relays in Zibgee or Z-Wave could you suggest relays with external source command? Also, can all this different devices cooperate freely with ST hub v3? Or if one choosezibgee then better stay stick to that?

Thanks

If offline availability is a priority I’d stay away from WiFi based devices to start.

2 Likes

If offline availability is a priority, don’t expect to use phone apps or voice assistants when your internet is unavailable.

1 Like

SmartThings is primarily a cloud based system, so it’s not going to meet your first requirement of operating when the internet is unavailable. For example, the Sonoff devices require custom code and all custom code in a SmartThings setup runs in the cloud. So if the Internet was down you would not be able to use the Ikea buttons to control the Sonoff lights. :disappointed_relieved:

Also, the SmartThings app requires the internet to control any of your devices even if it is on the same local WiFi. (They didn’t have to design it that way, but they did.)

So I don’t think your wife is going to be happy. :disappointed_relieved:

I suggest you return the SmartThings hub.

Since budget is your primary consideration, both Sonoff and Ikea are good candidates, but the trick is what will work together.