Use Smartthings offline?

I’m kind of new to smartthings… over 2019 i picked up: door sensors, lights, outlets and a bunch of buttons to control some of this stuff without having to use the app. This year i was planning on upgrading even further, by upgrading to smart light switches and outlets.

The outage yesterday, even though it was relatively brief, has me questioning whether i want to continue automating my house… while i don’t have many smart devices, the ones that i do have are pretty critical to day-to-day operations and not being able to control any of them, even with the physical buttons, posed a huge inconvenience (like having to get dressed in a dark bedroom using a cell phone light), so much so that i don’t want to go any further for fear of another outage.

Is it possible to set up smartthings so that your automations can be controlled by local buttons/switches when there’s an outage, or even better, configure the hub so that it can be controlled by IP in an offline type of scenario?

TIA

is it possible? Yes. Can you do it with any random device and automation creator? no.

In my house I always implement smart devices with a manual backup. So i always use smart switches vs smart bulbs.

4 Likes

Smartthings remains primarily a cloud-based system. Even just changing the mode requires the smartthings cloud. Almost all code still runs in the cloud. The app itself always requires the cloud even if it is running on the same Wi-Fi as your hub (they didn’t have to design it that way, but they did.)

If you want a hub that runs locally, you’ll need to look at some of the competition like Hubitat, Homeseer, Apple HomeKit, Insteon, etc.