Home Assistant can now control Smartthings

I’m NOT the coder, and i’m not associated with the project. I have no experience with it either.

But I really hope that HASS might be able to treat my hub like a dumb device, using the hub as a gateway to my existing Z-wave and (most importantly) Zigbee devices, allowing LOCAL PROCESSING at last.

3 Likes

Bump. Did someone try this? What exactly is it supposed to do?

I have not tried it. But as has been explained to me and as my reading suggests, it allows the ST hub to act as a dumb gateway to your devices, while all rule execution occurs locally via HASS.

Correct… Except that the SmartThings MQTT Bridge SmartApp and Device Type Handler still run in the SmartThings Cloud until these are supported for local execution…

1 Like

I have this working at home on RPi.

I like it for the flexibility of hass and ease of creating dashboards for switch control, etc… But what I think I’m realising is that I wish I could just take SmartThings out of the picture altogether and interface with the zigbee devices directly. The cloud just introduces too much latency and fragility.

1 Like

How can we tell (or configure) what smart apps run local versus in the ST cloud? What software do you run on RPi?

On the RPi I’m running hass, Mosca (MQTT broker), and the smartthings-mqtt-bridge.

Basically as described here: https://home-assistant.io/blog/2016/02/09/smarter-smart-things-with-mqtt-and-home-assistant/

If I understand correctly, this approach will always rely on the cloud because you need to create a SmartApp to pass events to the MQTT broker, and it’s currently not possible to have that app run locally.

So, although this approach gives you access to your ST devices in hass, it doesn’t solve the fundamental reliance on ST’s cloud.

1 Like