Help getting started with ST (custom Arduino+Ethernet device: how to connect it to ST?)

I am a ST noob and need help adding an unsupported device.

I have developed a Garage door monitor using an Arduino and Ethernet shield.
I can get the state of the garage door (via a contact sensor) by accessing the web server running on the Arduino.
The Arduino is also capable acting as web client.

Here is where I need the community’s help. I don’t know what I need to create in ST (device handler, virtual device, Smart App, etc) to get the garage door status on the dashboard.

Here is what I looking to achieve:

1. The garage door monitor updates the ST (via a web request) on a state change (door open/closed)
  2. ST shows the garage door status and have the ability to send a web request to the garage door monitor to open/close

Where do I begin and thanks for the help!

There are a couple of different ways to do this, and hopefully other community members will chime in.

One of the simplest ways would be to create a virtual switch which represents the Arduino. Then its status would show up in the SmartThings app.

So now you’ve got a virtual switch and you want to create bidirectional communication.

For anything complicated, see the developer docs at the link at the top right of this page.

For just a simple on/off, you can use the free IFTTT maker channel as a “man in the middle.”

You have your device send to the IFTTT maker channel as the “if” in an IFTTT recipe and use turning on the virtual switch in the smartthings channel as the “that.” Set up a separate recipe for the off.

You can then do exactly the same thing in the opposite direction: have turning on the virtual switch in the smartthings channel then send something via the maker channel as the that. And again you would need two recipes, one for on and one for off.