Getting ZWave to produce a Zero Volt Momentary Switch connection

Hello,

I’m new to all this and am looking for some help, I’m looking for a device or suggestions as to how to complete the following.

My Gas fire has a physical switch which connects to the receiver. The switch does nothing but short the pins together to ignite the fire. Depending on the pins that are momentarily shorted the fire will either, ignite, turn off, flame down or flame up.

I’m looking for a way to swap this physical switch to a Zwave controlled device that I can in turn control with Alexa.

Attached is an image / diagram showing what I actually want to do… In essence, just turn it on and off (i’n not worried about flame up and down)

If you could offer some advice or assistance in accomplishing this I’d be very grateful.

Thanks for your time,

Bill

I believe JD is typing up the usual fire place warnings right now (which you should read and highly consider). But what you’re looking for is called a dry contact switch. The Remotec ZFM-80 is popular.

2 Likes

First things first: you need to check with your Township to see if it would be legal to add home automation to your gas fireplace. And it probably will not be. :fire::fire_engine::ambulance::rotating_light:

You should first read some of the other threads in the forum about fireplace controls. In most places in the US, it is against safety code to have any kind of remote control that can be operated out of sight, usually defined as more than about 20 feet.

And once you add smartthings control, or for that matter Alexa Control, to the ignition device, you have violated that. You may know that you never intend to be at your office 20 miles away and turn on the gas fireplace, but just the fact that you can is in itself a violation. And that can then void your homeowners insurance.