Frustrated End User/Consumer

(Jam Dawz) #1

I had two goals: monitor my home remotely and simplify home security. As an early adopter of the SmartThings environment, I anticipated some minor bugs. I did not anticipate being a beta tester. I am not a coder nor do I have the time to learn to code for this system. This system is far from ready for consumer release. Nothing works right. The Smart Apps sometimes work, sometimes don’t. Our presence is rarely properly detected when we come and go. Therefore, we are plagued by false alarms. It wan’t easy for me to convince my wife to make this purchase. Now, I have a frustrated family and my two goals remain unattained. For the meantime, i will return to using my hardwired, non-monitored perimeter security system. I will continue my search for a hub to communicate with my installed sensors and eventually sell my useless SmartThings hub on eBay. My range of influence is not great, but I had several interested friends willing to jump on the SmartThings bandwagon. However, using social media and review sites, I will persuade them otherwise.

(Chrisb) #2

@dawz2,

Have you tried talking to support at all on your problems/issues? I guess I would say at least give them a chance to look into the problems before you write the whole system off as “useless.”

Beyond that, can you give some details on what’s you’re trying to do that isn’t working? What OS are you running on your phone? What SmartApps are you trying to run? Are you using presence tags or mobile presence?

(Jam Dawz) #3

Customer support has been the one bright spot. They have been responsive and helpful. I have the SmartThings app installed on 3 iOS 7 devices (iPhone 5, iPhone 5C, and iPhone 5S)
Some of my issues: