Extreme Makeover: SmartThings Edition

Please allow me to re-introduce myself. I was a Developer Advocate when I started working at SmartThings two years ago and I used to be a lot more active on the community. Between moving into an apartment to take the job at SmartThings and moving to a more behind the scenes role (Software Engineer), my participation has diminished. Even so, I never stopped advocating for developers inside of SmartThings and I am excited by what the future holds. Onto the project.

TLDR;

I am moving from my apartment and into a house. I will be blogging?posting about the process of starting from scratch building out my SmartThings and home network setup.

Genesis

One of the main reasons I got into home automation was that my parents were getting older and I started thinking of ways I could automate and simplify things for them so they could continue to live on their own. They had SmartThings and I had SmartThings, but they refused to use smart phones so for them SmartThings was just something mysterious that happened in the background.

We Bought A House

Fast forward two years and my parents have decided to move to California. I certainly could not accommodate them in my two-bedroom apartment, so we bought a house. Moving day was yesterday and I just erased my old config from the apartment and will be starting from scratch building out the SmartThings setup in my new home. I will be posting here with updates each weekend as I add more to the build.

Some stats

• Six Occupants
  • Two Stories
  • Six Bedrooms
  • Two Kitchens
  • Two Laundries
  • Two Living Rooms
  • Three Bathrooms*
  • Attached Garage
  • Detached Garage/Workshop
  • Three Sliding Doors
  • Two Entry Doors
  • No overhead lighting upstairs bedrooms (All are an outlet controlled by the switch)

Day Zero