Can multiple z-wave and non-z-wave switches share a neutral in a 2 or 3 gang box?

I am building a house, and I am trying to see if I can start out with z-wave and home automation. My electrician hasn’t ever installed any z-wave switches, and after watching a video on how to install a z-wave GE 12724 dimmer he said, “Well what happens when I have a 2 or 3 gang box and all of the switches share the same neutral?”

I am not sure I even understand his question, but It seems he isn’t sure how things will work if he has a mult-gang box with multiple z-wave dimmers, or some z-wave, some traditional. Can anyone give me feedback for him?

Thanks,
Lani

I connected the neutrals switch to switch and the last one in the line to the wire in the box. The GE switches I bought had two holes on the back for each screw on the side so it was pretty easy.

I am NOT an electrician, I don’t know if this is right or wrong but it worked without a problem in my setup.

I believe it is fine, the Neutral is just powering the Z-Wave Switch’s other functions…

I can atleast say that I have 2 Z-Waves in a gangbox, and both share the same Neutral. No issues, one is a of/off switch for the light, and the other is the smart fan control for the fan. Works great.

I’ve seen others wire up 4 in a gangbox just all jumping off the one neutral.

@stroh interesting, i didn’t think of doing that… I wonder if that is proper… it would surely make me stuffing 4 wires into a nut atleast easier. (as i wouldn’t have to doing it with your way. :stuck_out_tongue:)

Anybody know if that is proper?

Have 4 switches in one box they all share the same neutral and hot (installed by a professional, after having similar concerns)

Look at it this way, the neutrals are usually tied to ground in the breakerbox, which is ALMOST the same thing as tying them together in the switchbox.