Bulb Recommendation

Are there any bulbs that people would recommend that work directly with Smartthings? I’m new to this and struggling to find anything I am confident will work.

Assuming you mean smart bulbs, take a look at this thread for starters.

If you want something that will work directly with SmartThings, then you will want a Zigbee or Z-Wave bulb. All of the other wireless bulbs (i.e. WiFi bulbs) and platforms (i.e. Philips Hue) will communicate through the cloud to SmartThings.

I’ve had good experience with the Cree Connected LED bulbs. The connected bulbs from GE gave me a lot of problems.

Before buying a lot of connected bulbs, make sure that connected bulbs are really the best solution for your application. Connected bulbs are easy to install, but have a lot of drawbacks when you share the home with others. The biggest issue is that connected bulbs stop responding when they don’t have power because someone turned off the light at the switch. Also, if your fixture has specialty bulbs, or very bright bulbs, it may be difficult to find a connected bulb in that style/luminance.

The step up from the connected bulb is the connected plug-in outlet. These are good for applications where you have multiple lamps close together. Like connected bulbs, you can’t overcome the problem of someone turning off the power at the lamp fixture, but the connected outlet will remain on the mesh network.

If your light is controlled by a wall switch, then you are best off replacing the wall switch. This is the most work and skill intensive, but also more foolproof and cost effective if you have several bulbs controlled by the same switch.

1 Like