Building First SmartApp for Dummies

About this post

I’m building my first SmartApp to migrate to the SmartThings Edge platform an app developed using legacy Groovy technology. I have very little knowledge about the Unix platform, NodeJS, AWS and SmartThings Edge. When I started from scratch, I made a lot of mistakes, because many things that seem obvious to me now were not obvious to me at the beginning. I just want to share my experience and the information I have gathered from various sources. I hope this will save you time to develop your first SmartApp.

Troubleshooting

You are likely to receive error messages during development. Something like this: “An unexpected error occurred… email us at support@smartthing.com … Reference ID …” or “Network error… Please try again later”. Do not contact SmartThings support (you will confuse them and they will not be able to help you) and do not try again later. This is your fault and the only way to resolve it is to look through the logs and ask this community for help. Here I found many thoughtful and helpful people who helped me solve my problems.

Hosting SmartApp

Before registering a SmartApp at Developer Workspace , you need to create it. :slight_smile: I use AWS because AWS can easily host WebHook and Lambda functions. The implementation is very similar. Here is the code I used for testing:

exports.handler = function (request, context, callback) {
    try {
        const webHood = request.lifecycle === undefined;
        if (webHood) {
            request = JSON.parse(request.body);
        }
        let response = ProcessRequest(request);
        if (response.statusCode === undefined)
            response.statusCode = 200;
        if (webHood)
            callback(null, { statusCode: 200, body: JSON.stringify(response) });
        else
            callback(null, response);
    } catch (ex) {
        callback({}, null);
    }
}